Comprehensive health assessment of the older person

Workshops

Victorian Government fully funded training for public sector registered and enrolled nurses

Want to learn how to make a significant difference to an older person’s health, safety and quality of life outcomes?

The ‘Comprehensive health assessment of the older person’ workshop is a three-day program for public sector registered and enrolled nurses primarily working in residential aged care, aged persons mental health, sub-acute, transitional care and maintenance programs. The workshop is also relevant to all nurses providing care to older people and places may be available for nurses working in other public health service areas.

ANMF is partnering with La Trobe University to deliver this workshop, fully funded by the Victorian Government, across regional and metropolitan Victoria.

The workshop includes eight health modules:

  1. Clinical reasoning and general assessment skills including data collection techniques, organisation of data and the role of assessment in planning care.
  2. Communication of assessment findings and ethical, legal and professional considerations such as documentation, informed consent and confidentiality.
  3. Musculoskeletal assessment.
  4. Nutrition, metabolism and elimination, including assessment of the integument (skin, hair, nails), abdomen and oral cavity and assessment for dehydration, constipation, malnutrition, urinary tract infection and changes in blood glucose.
  5. Assessment of the cardiovascular system.
  6. Respiratory assessment including pulse oximetry.
  7. Assessment of cognition and perception including mental status, cognitive functioning, perception, sensation, coordination, reflexes, pain and the senses.
  8. Psychosocial assessment including coping and stress, sexuality, sleep and rest.

The workshop builds upon the considerable existing knowledge and experience of all participants. Learning is structured around clinical issues and/or problems drawn from meaningful case studies and clinical scenarios. Simulated clinical situations using manikins and other equipment will challenge participants, generate discussion and knowledge sharing and support learning. The course is very ‘hands-on’ and practice-based.

The workshops are limited to 20 participants. This number provides optimal participant to facilitator ratio for engagement, group-based learning and ‘classroom’ practice.

 

Funded by Victorian State Government. Delivered by La Trobe University and ANMF (Vic Branch)

2018 CHAOP workshop schedule

Participants must attend the 3 days to successfully complete this workshop.

CPD: 18 hours

Dates: Wednesday 6 February, Thursday 7 February and Friday 8 February 2019

Time: 9.30 am to 4.30 pm each day

Location: South West Healthcare Warrnambool, Warrnambool Community Health, Koroit Street, Warrnambool.

 

This seminar is full. Participants must attend the 3 days to successfully complete this workshop.

CPD: 18 hours

Dates: Wednesday 13 February, Thursday 14 February and Friday 15 February 2019

Time: 9.30 am to 4.30 pm each day

Location: Kilmore District Health Service, Rutledge Street Kilmore

 

Register to attend

Participants must attend the 3 days to successfully complete this workshop.

CPD: 18 hours

Dates: Wednesday 20 February, Thursday 21 February and Friday 22 February 2019

Time: 9.30 am to 4.30 pm each day

Location: ANMF (Vic Branch), 535 Elizabeth Street, Melbourne

 

Participants must attend the 3 days to successfully complete this workshop.

CPD: 18 hours

Dates: Wednesday 6 March, Thursday 7 March and Friday 8 March 2019

Time: 9.30 am to 4.30 pm each day

Location: Central Gippsland Health Service - Sale, 155 Guthridge Parade 

 

Register to attend

Participants must attend the 3 days to successfully complete this workshop.

CPD: 18 hours

Dates: Wednesday 13 March, Thursday 14 March and Friday 15 March 2019

Time: 9.30 am to 4.30 pm each day

Location: Ballarat Health Services - Base Hospital, Cnr Sturt and Drummond Streets, Ballarat. 

 

Register to attend

Participants must attend the 3 days to successfully complete this workshop.

CPD: 18 hours

Dates: Wednesday 20 March, Thursday 21 March and Friday 22 March 2019

Time: 9.30 am to 4.30 pm each day

Location: ANMF (Vic Branch), 535 Elizabeth Street, Melbourne

 

Register to attend

Participants must attend the 3 days to successfully complete this workshop.

CPD: 18 hours

Dates: Wednesday 3 April, Thursday 4 April and Friday 5 April 2019

Time: 9.30 am to 4.30 pm each day

Location: Quality Inn Colonial, 483-485 High Street Golden Square

 

Register to attend

Participants must attend the 3 days to successfully complete this workshop.

CPD: 18 hours

Dates: Wednesday 3 April, Thursday 4 April and Friday 5 April 2019

Time: 9.30 am to 4.30 pm each day

Location: University Hospital Geelong, McKellar Centre, 45-95 Ballarat Road, North Geelong

 

Register to attend

Participants must attend the 3 days to successfully complete this workshop.

CPD: 18 hours

Dates: Wednesday 29 April, Thursday 30 April and Friday 1 May

Time: 9.30 am to 4.30 pm each day

Location: ANMF (Vic Branch), 535 Elizabeth Street, Melbourne

 

Register to attend

Participants must attend the 3 days to successfully complete this workshop.

CPD: 18 hours

Dates: Monday 29 April, Tuesday 30 April and Wednesday 1 May

Time: 9.30 am to 4.30 pm each day

Location: Mildura Base Hospital, Ontario Avenue Mildura

 

Register to attend

Participants must attend the 3 days to successfully complete this workshop.

CPD: 18 hours

Dates: Wednesday 8 May, Thursday 9 May and Friday 10 May

Time: 9.30 am to 4.30 pm each day

Location: Nhill Hospital - West Wimmera HS, 49 Nelson Street Nhill

 

Register to attend

Participants must attend the 3 days to successfully complete this workshop.

CPD: 18 hours

Dates: Wednesday 15 May, Thursday 16 May and Friday 17 May

Time: 9.30 am to 4.30 pm each day

Location: Horsham Golf Club. 304 Golf Course Road, Haven Vic 3401

 

Register to attend

Participants must attend the 3 days to successfully complete this workshop.

CPD: 18 hours

Dates: Wednesday 22 May, Thursday 23 May and Friday 24 May

Time: 9.30 am to 4.30 pm each day

Location: Swan Hill Health, 48 Splatt Street Swan Hill

 

Register to attend

Participants must attend the 3 days to successfully complete this workshop.

CPD: 18 hours

Dates: Wednesday 29 May, Thursday 30 May and Friday 31 May

Time: 9.30 am to 4.30 pm each day

Location: ANMF (Vic Branch), 535 Elizabeth Street, Melbourne

 

Register to attend

Participants must attend the 3 days to successfully complete this workshop.

CPD: 18 hours

Dates: Wednesday 5 June, Thursday 6 June and Friday 7 June 2019

Time: 9.30 am to 4.30 pm each day

Location: West Gippsland Hospital, Mary Sargeant Lecture Room, Landsborough Street, Warragul

West Gippsland Hospital Map

Register to attend

Participants must attend the 3 days to successfully complete this workshop.

CPD: 18 hours

Dates: Wednesday 19 June, Thursday 20 June and Friday 21 June 2019

Time: 9.30 am to 4.30 pm each day

Location: Stawell Regional Health, 27-29 Sloane Street Stawell

 

Register to attend

Participants must attend the 3 days to successfully complete this workshop.

CPD: 18 hours

Dates: Wednesday 17 July, Thursday 18 July and Friday 19 July 2019

Time: 9.30 am to 4.30 pm each day

Location: Yarrawonga Health, 33 Piper Street, Yarrawonga

 

Register to attend

Participants must attend the 3 days to successfully complete this workshop.

CPD: 18 hours

Dates: Wednesday 24 July, Thursday 25 July and Friday 26 July 2019

Time: 9.30 am to 4.30 pm each day

Location: Lorne Community House, 16 Mountjoy Parade, Lorne


Register to attend

Participants must attend the 3 days to successfully complete this workshop.

CPD: 18 hours

Dates: Wednesday 7 August, Thursday 8 August and Friday 9 August 2019

Time: 9.30 am to 4.30 pm each day

Location: Bairnsdale Regional Health Service, 122 Day Street, Bairnsdale

 

Register to attend

Participants must attend the 3 days to successfully complete this workshop.

CPD: 18 hours

Dates: Wednesday 14 August, Thursday 15 August and Friday 16 August 2019

Time: 9.30 am to 4.30 pm each day

Location: Kerang and District Hospital, 13-15 Burgoyne Street, Kerang

 

Register to attend

Participants must attend the 3 days to successfully complete this workshop.

CPD: 18 hours

Dates: Wednesday 21 August, Thursday 22 August and Friday 23 August 2019

Time: 9.30 am to 4.30 pm each day

Location: Wantirna Hospital, 251 Mountain Highway

 

Register to attend

Participants must attend the 3 days to successfully complete this workshop.

CPD: 18 hours

Dates: Wednesday 4 September, Thursday 5 September and Friday 6 September 2019

Time: 9.30 am to 4.30 pm each day

Location: Rural Northwest Health - Warracknabeal, Dimboola Road, Warracknabeal

 

Register to attend

Participants must attend the 3 days to successfully complete this workshop.

CPD: 18 hours

Dates: Wednesday 11 September, Thursday 12 September and Friday 13 September 2019

Time: 9.30 am to 4.30 pm each day

Location: University Hospital Geelong, Ryrie Street, Geelong

 

Register to attend

Participants must attend the 3 days to successfully complete this workshop.

CPD: 18 hours

Dates: Monday 16 September, Tuesday 17 September and Wednesday 18 September 2019

Time: 9.30 am to 4.30 pm each day

Location: ANMF (Vic Branch) 535 Elizabeth Street, Melbourne

 

Register to attend

Participants must attend the 3 days to successfully complete this workshop.

CPD: 18 hours

Dates: Wednesday 16 October, Thursday 17 October and Friday 18 October 2019

Time: 9.30 am to 4.30 pm each day

Location: Colac Area Health, 2-28 Connor Street, Colac

 

Register to attend

Participants must attend the 3 days to successfully complete this workshop.

CPD: 18 hours

Dates: Wednesday 23 October, Thursday 24 October and Friday 25 October 2019

Time: 9.30 am to 4.30 pm each day

Location: Albury Wodonga Health, Vermont Street, Wodonga

 

Register to attend

Participants must attend the 3 days to successfully complete this workshop.

CPD: 18 hours

Dates: Wednesday 30 October, Thursday 31 October and Friday 1 November 2019

Time: 9.30 am to 4.30 pm each day

Location: Ballarat Health Services - Base Hospital, Cnr Sturt and Drummond Streets, Ballarat

 

Register to attend

Participants must attend the 3 days to successfully complete this workshop.

CPD: 18 hours

Dates: Wednesday 13 November, Thursday 14 November and Friday 15 November 2019

Time: 9.30 am to 4.30 pm each day

Location: ANMF (Vic Branch), 535 Elizabeth Street, Melbourne

 

Register to attend

Participants must attend the 3 days to successfully complete this workshop.

CPD: 18 hours

Dates: Wednesday 13 November, Thursday 14 November and Friday 15 November 2019

Time: 9.30 am to 4.30 pm each day

Location: Goulburn Valley Health Shepparton, Graham Street Shepparton - see GV map

 

Register to attend

Participants must attend the 3 days to successfully complete this workshop.

CPD: 18 hours

Dates: Wednesday 20 November, Thursday 21 November and Friday 22 November 2019

Time: 9.30 am to 4.30 pm each day

Location: Northeast Health Wangaratta, 35-47 Green Street, Wangaratta

 

Register to attend

Participants must attend the 3 days to successfully complete this workshop.

CPD: 18 hours

Dates: Wednesday 27 November, Thursday 28 November and Friday 29 November 2019

Time: 9.30 am to 4.30 pm each day

Location: East Grampians Health - Ararat, Girdlestone Street, Ararat


Register to attend